top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFVS Amie des Enfants

Melchiade, the orphans' hero



Melchiade is a member of a Children's Rights Committee in Ryansoro. For many years, he has been advocating for orphans spoliated of their inherited properties. He has then succeeded to get justice for 8 orphans. Melchiade’s work brought him enmities. Once, he had to assist a young girl as her married older sisters kept her aside while sharing their parents’ inheritance. The young girl won the trial but her family empoisoned him with an acid. Thanks to God, he survived it. Not discouraged at all, he is now eager to fight for orphans and other vulnerable children rights:


“My commitment to orphan and other vulnerable children is stronger today. This isn’t because I, my self, grew up being an orphan. Actually, my parents died after I got married and had all my children […] When I started to volunteer in the Children's Rights Committee, I was already married and people were wondering how I would provide for my family while being that much dedicated to other children. I just did my job without paying attention to other people’s opinions and later, my wife joined me in the Children's Rights Committee. […] I am happy to help orphans and other vulnerable children. I spend a lot of my time on it and my wife supports me. I feel joyful when a child isn’t crying his misery anymore , it gives me more strength. Only God will reward my work and I thank Him for this opportunity FVS-AMADE BURUNDI gave me. It taught me bravery. Even when I had a murder attempt, I didn’t fear because soon or later, we will all die. I will be at peace with myself if I die trying to get justice for orphans and other vulnerable children.”

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page