top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFVS Amie des Enfants

Joséphine, THE woman


It has been 17 years since Joséphine Kabura started to volunteer in associations in Murenge, Ryansoro. However, she did not always feel supported. Joséphine is also a member of a Children's Rights Committee and one day, her children came saying that someone on a motorcycle was looking for her. It was a agent of FVS-AMADE BURUNDI “ABAGENZI B'ABANA”. This one asked Joséphine to gather the other members of their Children's Rights Committee so that he can present them a new project. Once gathered, the FVS-AMADE BURUNDI agent came back and taught the “Nawe N’uze” approach to the group. Joséphine was the first to receive a credit in her self-help group and was thus able to start a business. After a year, she bought a building plot. Later, DUKUZE IBIBONDO Microfinance was launch in Gitega:


"What was my joy when I found out that my self-help group could benefit from a collective credit but that it was also possible to get a personal loan. Now, I also joined Tuzokira Twese Insurance, which covers my health care up to 80%. I feel so fulfilled with FVS - AMADE BURUNDI programmes to the point that I talk about it all the time around me [...] In our society, a woman mostly relies on her husband and this one often complains when the woman asks for money. Today, my husband and I are complementary and when I am walking in the streets, people say that John's wife is THE woman…. My husband is so proud of it. Through FVS - AMA


DE BURUNDI, I contribute to the well-being of my family and I can help orphans and other vulnerable children. In the streets of Gitega, we often see children from Karuzi who, due to their families poverty, dropped out of school. I welcomed one of those kids and I brought him back to school. I have other children whose mothers have fled to Tanzania. All this would not have been possible without FVS-AMADE BURUNDI which has helped us to economically empower our households [...] I would like to give an advice to other women. When you always have to ask to your husband to provide for all the household expenses, this creates tensions because your husband also needs to drink a beer with his friends. But when the woman contributes to the household income, the couple get along well. In households, poverty is often the big point of contention. »

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page